If you Remember the Sixties – Oz Hardwick

If you Remember the Sixties

Oz Hardwick’s tenth collection, A Census of Preconceptions, is published by SurVision Books. He has won countless prizes, mostly in raffles, and feels that feeling awkward is close enough to an award as makes no difference. www.ozhardwick.co.uk

Pissing – Ace Boggess


in memory of Ron Houchin

Ace Boggess is author of six books of poetry, including Escape Envy (Brick Road Poetry Press, 2021), I Have Lost the Art of Dreaming It So, and The Prisoners. His writing has appeared in Michigan Quarterly Review, Notre Dame Review, Harvard Review, Mid-American Review, and other journals. An ex-con, he lives in Charleston, West Virginia, where he writes and tries to stay out of trouble. His seventh collection, Tell Us How to Live, is forthcoming in 2024 from Fernwood Press.

Skin – Michelle Dennehy


Michelle Dennehy read English at Oxford University. Her poems have featured in journals including Amphibian, Bangor Literary Journal, Drawn to the Light Press and The Honest Ulsterman. Her poems have been published in anthologies from Dedalus Press and CAP Arts, Belfast. 

The Fall – David Clarke

The Fall

David Clarke’s first pamphlet Gaud won the Michael Marks Award in 2013. He has published two collections with Nine Arches Press (most recently The Europeans in 2019) and a further pamphlet, Scare Stories, with V Press. The Field in Winter will be published by Nine Arches in the autumn of 2023.

Featured Publication – Green Apple Red by James McDermott

Our featured publication for March and April is Green Apple Red by James McDermott, published by Broken Sleep Books.

James McDermott’s Green Apple Red is a dazzling pamphlet which maps the speaker’s growth from shamed ‘unnatural’ adolescent into queer adult proud of their nature. These majestic poems look towards a queerness of nature encouraging the inosculation of the reader and McDermott’s written word.

Clear yet complex poems which lovingly interrogate queer desire to find shame, intimacy and protest in equal measure – unearthing, ultimately, a resonant wisdom in the Norfolk landscape and natural world” Richard Scott

Green Apple Red revels in entanglements and inosculations, queering the language of nature: ‘bears’ who ‘are worshipped in sub-cultures’; an apple-eater consuming ‘only Cox’s’. In sensuous poems of belonging and longing, James McDermott carves out space for queer bodies in landscapes. These poems invite us to be shameless and public, ‘out in the open’ amongst our fellow creatures: unique, ‘fizzing with want’ like a bee, but ‘just another animal’ too. At once ‘cricket ball small’ with ‘Shame’s Stone’, but gutsy with the ‘second brain’ of the intestines, there’s abundant clarity, humour and vulnerability here, for wandering queers (and non-queers) everywhere” Caleb Parkin

The Weight

Shame’s Stone

My Queer Mind Goes For A Walk

How Queer I Live On Norfolk Coast

James’s poetry books include the spoken word collection Manatomy (Burning Eye Books; long-listed for Polari’s First Book Prize 2021) and the pamphlets Erased (Polari Press) and Green Apple Red (Broken Sleep Books). James’s second collection Wild Life will be published by Nine Arches Press in June 2023. James’s poems have been widely
published in magazines and journals including Poetry Wales, The Cardiff Review, Ink Sweat & Tears, Butcher’s Dog and Fourteen Poems. James’s plays published by Samuel French include Rubber Ring (Pleasance Islington/UK Tour) and Time and Tide (Park Theatre/UK Tour; Offie nominated for Best New Play 2020; long-listed for the Bruntwood,
Papatango and Verity Bargate Playwriting Prizes). James is also one of the writers on EastEnders, an Arvon Writing tutor and Lecturer in Scriptwriting at The University of East Anglia. Twitter – jamesliammcd, Instagram – jamesmcdermott1993

Copies of Green Apple Red are available to purchase from James’s website.

Marine Snow – Fiona Larkin

Marine Snow

Fiona Larkin’s pamphlets are A Dovetail of Breath (Rack Press, 2020) and Vital Capacity (Broken Sleep, 2022). Her debut collection, Rope of Sand, appears with Pindrop Press summer 2023; the title poem was highly commended in the Forward Prizes. She manages innovative projects with Corrupted Poetry.